IUAES logo

Home - History

Introduction of the IUAES


The IUAES is a world organization of scientists and institutions working in the fields of anthropology and ethnology, but also of interest to archaeologists and linguists, among others. Its aim is to enhance exchange and communication among scholars of all regions of the world, in a collective effort to expand human knowledge. In this way it hopes to contribute to a better understanding of human society, and to a sustainable future based on harmony between nature and culture.

The IUAES was established on 23 August 1948, when it was brought into one organization, de facto, with the International Congress of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences (ICAES), which was itself founded in 1934. The latter was the follower of various Congresses of Anthropological Sciences, starting in 1865, the President of the Congress also serving as the President of the Union. The two organizations were united, de jure, in 1968.

Through its major Congress (called ICAES until 2008, and subsequently renamed World Congress), held every five years, the IUAES provides a world forum for the discussion and dissemination of research. In the period between world congresses, it also sponsors Inter-Congresses, seminars and symposia, and encourages the participation of anthropologists in other international meetings and projects. Through its Scientific Commissions, the IUAES stimulates the convergence of research interests among anthropologists, and the dissemination of research findings through publications.

The Congresses held from 1934 onwards were as follows:

1934 London, UK 1938 Copenhagen, Denmark
1948 Brussels, Belgium 1952 Vienna, Austria
1956 Philadelphia, USA 1960 Paris, France
1964 Moscow, Russia 1968 Tokyo, Japan
1973 Chicago, USA 1978 Delhi, India
1983 Quebec and Vancouver, Canada 1988 Zagreb, Croatia
1993 Mexico City, Mexico 1998 Williamsburg, USA
2003 Florence, Italy 2009 Kunming, China »» Report
2013 Manchester, UK »» Report 2018 (Florianópolis, Brazil)

Inter-Congresses took place in:

1981 Amsterdam, Netherlands 1990 Lisbon, Portugal
1995 Florence, Italy 1996 Linkoping, Sweden
1997 Perth, Australia 2000 Beijing, China
2001 Gottingen, Germany 2002 Tokyo, Japan
2004 Calcutta and Ranchi, India 2005 Pardubice, Czech
2006 Cape Town, South Africa 2010 Antalya, Turkey »» Report
2011 Perth, Australia »» Report 2012 Bhubaneswar, India »» Report
2014 Chiba, Japan 2015 Bangkok, Thailand
2016 Dubrovnik, Croatia 2017 Ottawa, Canada
2019 (Poznań, Poland)

Presidents, Secretaries-General and Treasurers:

Up to 1934The Earl of OnslowJ. L. Myers
A. H. Broderick
H. G. Beasley
1934-1938Thomas ThomsenK. Birket-Smith
J. L. Myers
A. H. Broderick
Kjeld Rordam
1946-1948Ed. De JongheFrans M. OlbrechtsFr. Twiesselmann
1948-1952P. W. SchmidtW. Koppers
J. Weninger
1952-1956Floelich G. RaineyYvonne OddonNational Academy of Science, Washington, D. C.
1956-1960Henri V. ValloisA. Leroi-Gourhan
P. Champion
R. d'Harcourt,
M. L. Pasquino
1960-1964S. P. TolstovG. F. Debetz,
I. R. Grigoulevitch
A. Leroi-Gourhan
L. N. Terentyeva
1964-1968Masao OkaLawrence Krader 
1968-1973Sol TaxLawrence Krader 
1973-1978Lalita P. VidyarthiLawrence Krader 
1978-1983Cyril S. BelshawEric Sunderland 
1983-1988Hubert MaverEric Sunderland 
1988-1993Lourdes ArizpeEric Sunderland 
1993-1998Vinson H. SutliveEric Sunderland 
1998-2003Eric SunderlandPeter J. M. NasTomoko Hamada
2003-2009Luis A. VargasPeter J. M. NasTomoko Hamada
2009-2013Peter J. M. NasJunji KoizumiAndrew D. Spiegel
2013-2018Faye Venetia HarrisonJunji KoizumiAndrew D. Spiegel
2018-2023Junji Koizumi Noel B. Salazar Helen Macdonald

Source: Anthropology Now, P. J .M. Nas and ZhangJijiao, eds., 2009, Appendix 2.

Statutes before the revision of December 25, 2012

Permanent Council before the revision of December 25, 2012