Home - Scientific Commissions - Urgent Anthropological Research

Commission on:
Urgent Anthropological Research

The Homepage of the IUAES Commission on Urgent Anthropology will be installed this year at the Website of the Institute of Ethnology, Cultural and Social Anthropology, University of Vienna: www.univie.ac.at/Voelkerkunde

The IUAES Commission on Urgent Anthropology is co-organising the next Intercongress in India, in December 15-19, 2004, at the location of its South-East Asia Centre in Ranchi, with its Chairman Professor Vijay S. Upadhyay.

Theme: Strategies for Development of Indigenous People

The Opening ceremony will be organised jointly with the IUAES Commission on Urban Anthropology in Kolkata on December 15, 2004.

Organizers are Professor Buddhadeb Chauduri for Kolkata and Professor Vijay S. Upadhyay for Ranchi.


Professor Vijay S. Upadhyay,
Chairman South-East-Asia Centre ICUAR,
Manda Colony, Harihar Singh Road
Ranchi 834008
Phone: + 91 651 254 29 94
E-mail vsup[at]indiatimes.com

Prof. Buddhadeb Chaudhuri, M.Sc, Ph.D. P.R.S
Dr. Ambedkar Chair Professor in Anthropology, Calcutta University
B-3, Rochdale Housing,
15C Jubilee Park
Phone: 91-33-4717233/4810981
Office: 91-33-4741528
Fax: 91-33-4764419

Under its former title of IUEAS International Committee on Urgent Anthropological and Ethnological Research between 1958-1968, it published an annual Bulletin which was edited by Robert von Heine-Geldern and Anna Hohenwart-Gerlachstein. From 1969 to Bulletin No. 36, 1994 the sole editor has been Anna Hohenwart-Gerlachstein, from Bulletin 37-38 to Bulletin No. 40 jointly with Stephanie Wiesbauer-Hohenwart, since Bulletin No. 41 Stephanie Wiesbauer is sole editor.

At the 9th IUAES Congress in Chicago 1973 it was approved as IUEAS Commission on Urgent Anthropological Research, and three years later the publication of the Newsletter and the establishment of Regional Centres worldwide started. The next Newsletter No. 15 will come out in December 2003 bringing detailed information about the IUAES Inter-congress in India.