Home - Scientific Commissions - the Anthropology of Tourism

Commission on the Anthropology of Tourism

The IUAES Commission on the Anthropology of Tourism was founded during the fourteenth IUAES Congress in Williamsburg, USA (1998). Dr. Valene Smith was the Commission's first chair. Dr. Gregory Teal took over at the fifteenth IUAES Congress in Florence, Italy (2003). He is succeeded by Dr. Noel B. Salazar, who was elected chair during the seventeenth IUAES Congress in Manchester (2013). The main objective of the Commission is to promote the anthropology of tourism in the fields of research, teaching and public dissemination. The Commission facilitates the networking across the globe of people who share this interest. The Commission's mailing list is open to everyone with an interest in the anthropology of tourism. More information is available here.


Dr. Noel B. Salazar
Cultural Mobilities Research (CuMoRe)
University of Leuven
Parkstraat 45, bus 3615
BE-3000 Leuven
Phone: +32475537313
Fax: +3216325902
E-mail: Noel.Salazar[at]soc.kuleuven.be


Dr. Yujie Zhu
Australian Centre on China in the World
ANU College of Asia & the Pacific
HC Coombs Building #9
The Australian National University
Canberra ACT 0200
E-mail: yjzhu2013[at]gmail.com

Dr. Mari Korpela
School of Social Sciences and Humanities
Social anthropology
33014 University of Tampere
Phone: +358503186131
Fax: +35832159012
E-mail: mari.korpela[at]uta.fi